The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

17 South nominated for award

In only a few years, local band 17 South has gone from sitting on the porch dreaming of a music career to living those dreams. And now, they've been nominated to be the Georgia Country Band of the Year for 2008.

When they released their first CD two years ago, lead singer Tony Cannon said the band members were "like a family, cutting up, having a good time, sitting on the porch dreaming about the CD and where it's going to go."

Formerly known as Southbound, the band has gone places by opening for big names such as T. Graham Brown, Shenandoah, Toby Keith, Trace Adkins, Lady Antebellum and Tracy Lawrence.

They were selected the Best Country Act in 2006 by more than 1,000 readers of the Metro Spirit alternative newspaper, and featured in the CSRA It magazine.

Described as high-energy country-rock, the band has performed at the Blue Horse Music Hall in Augusta and is a regular at The Country Club in Augusta and Ozzie's in Columbia, S.C. They opened for Deepstep at the Georgia Theatre in Athens last night, and are scheduled to perform at the Wild West Bar and Grill in Atlanta in February.

But this next step on 17 South's road to fame will depend on their fans, because it's the band with the most votes who wins the election of band of the year.

The contest is sponsored by the Atlanta Country Music website, and votes are submitted via email. There are 25 bands on the list of nominations, with 10 of them being submitted by readers. 17 South, however, was nominated by the Atlanta Country Music Staff, after they heard the band's CD, Rusted and Rugged.

"After receiving our CD, they loved it," said Danielle Donley, the marketing director for Nside-Out Entertainment and 17 South. "Their opinion is very important to us. … (Their nomination based on our CD) is amazing."

Five of the band members - lead guitar player and vocalist Chris Powers, bass player Jake Jacobs, drummer Johnnie Brantley, back-up singer Robbie Ansley and acoustics player Bart Ficzere - are all from Thomson. Mr. Cannon is from Moultrie and rhythm guitar player Ed Gaskill is from Harlem.

To vote for 17 South, go to To learn more about the band and hear their music, visit


To vote for 17 South, go to To learn more about the band and hear their music, visit

Web posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .