The McDuffie Mirror

Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

State QBE task force has local connections

ATLANTA, GA -- A former McDuffie County Superintendent of Schools is getting a chance to review the way state dollars are dispersed to schools.

Bill Barr, who served as Superintendent of McDuffie County Schools prior to current Superintendent Ed Grisham, is one of 19 members of a task force appointed earlier this week to review the Quality Basic Education (QBE) funding formula. The QBE funding formula determines the amount of state funds that are allocated to Georgia's K-12 schools. The formula is based on student population and the demographics and needs of the student population.

Also on the task force is Warren County Board of Education Chairwoman Gwendolyn Tucker.

"I want an honest and open look at realigning our school funding formula to ensure that it better serves all students in this new era of accountability," said Governor Sonny Perdue. "The task force is a balanced group with representatives from every part of the state, including legislators, education experts, and business and community leaders."

Members of the task force include: Dr. Barr; Mrs. Tucker; Dean Alford, Task Force Chair, Rockdale County, State Board of Education; Sandra Neal, Crawford County, Retired Superintendent; Al Hunter, Brantley County, Superintendent; Steve Dolinger, Fulton County, Head of the Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education; Tim Connell, Gwinnett County, Director of the Office of Planning and Budget; Kathy Cox, Fayette County, State Superintendent of Schools; Guy Middleton, Lumpkin County, former State Representative; Jeanette Jamieson, Stephens County, State Representative; Brian Kemp, Clarke County, State Senator; Franklin Perry, Sumter County, Superintendent; Bill Fuqua, Lowndes County, School Board Chair; Alvin Wilbanks, Gwinnett County, Superintendent; Jennifer Albritton, Taylor, County, Budget Director; Victor Morgan, Bartow County, Assistant Superintendent, Special Education; Shirley Brooks, Ben Hill County, School Board member; Gary Smith, Dougherty County, private business and Robert W. Krueger, Pulaski County, private business.

The only previous time a task force was organized to review QBE was 1988. The QBE formula was created in 1985.

Web posted on Thursday, February 12, 2004

What do you think?  Send us your comments

Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .