The McDuffie Mirror

Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

TMS National Junior Beta Club holds induction

On Thursday evening, Feb. 19, the Thomson Middle School chapter of the National Junior Beta Club held a candlelight induction ceremony in the school's auditorium. Sixty-three students were added to the club's membership this year.


(From left) Markice Johnson, Renee Johnson, Stacy King, Kalyn Kitchings, and Melissa Landrum descend the stairs from the stage following the induction.
Following a welcome by club sponsor Claudia Rodriquez, Assistant Principal Pam Rhea led those in attendance in the pledge of allegiance. Claude Powell, TMS Principal, delivered the invocation and Mrs. Rodriquez then explained the purposes of National Junior Beta Club.

Beta is a service organization open to all seventh and eighth grade students at TMS who meet specified criteria. Among the requirements are the maintenance of high academic standards as evidenced by having earned grades of 90 or better in all seven classes for two consecutive nine weeks (one semester).

Exemplary behavior is also expected of all Beta students. Club members must not have any disciplinary referrals during their tenure in the organization.

After the requirements were explained to parents and faculty members in attendance, seventh graders Will Anderson, Samuel Lemley, Taylor Reid, and Sarah Weaver led the inductees in the Beta Club pledge. Mr. Powell and Mrs. Rodriquez presented the new members with their certificates of membership.

Eighth graders Brittney Brinkley, Michelle Loper, Jerrica Bell, and Marquez Hill each lit a candle after explaining its purpose. The first candle represented achievement, the hallmark of Junior Beta Club students; the second, character, the strength of the club's partners; the third, leadership, the goal of the pupils; and the final, inspiration, to which all Beta Club members aspire. The eighth graders then passed the light to their peers, symbolizing the club's mission, to inspire others to academic achievement while developing strength of character through leadership.


This year's Junior Beta Club inductees pose on the front steps of the school.
Inductees for the 2003-2004 school year included: John Allen, Will Anderson, Ben Barmore, Brittany Barnhill, Sarah Bass, Jerrica Bell, Krysta Belton, Rebekah Bolton, Brittney Brinkley, Casey Brooks, Bob Brunson, Lindsey Burch, Jessica Dena, Stephen Eller, Mary Catherine Finnerty, LaQuinton Fort, Kent Gant, LaChaundra Gant, Shanekia Gant, Satoria Greene, Jeff Hadden, Briana Hart, Cheryl Helmly, Marquez Hill, Mark Howard, Liz Jenkins, Madalyn Johnson, Markice Johnson, Renee Johnson, Stacy King, Kalyn Kitchings, Melissa Landrum, Sam Lemley, Jordan Lewis, Michelle Loper, Mia Mance, Katie May, Emory McAvoy, Ashley Mims, Brittany Moss, Cameron Neal, Emily Neal, Jim Parish, Charise Reese, Taylor Reid, C.J. Reynolds, Lindsay Rogillio, Austin Smith, Kent Thrift, Courtney Timmerman, Katherine Timmerman, Ashley Turman, Nichole Usry, Christine Usry, Destiny Van, Sarah Weaver, Hannah Welch, Tiera Whitfield, and Cassandra Williams.

Web posted on Thursday, March 4, 2004

What do you think?  Send us your comments

Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .