The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

McDuffie County 4-H'ers shine at District Project Achievement at Rock Eagle

Seventy-Two McDuffie Cloverleaf 4-H'ers traveled to Rock Eagle 4-H Center in Eatonton to participate in District Project Achievement on Feb. 17, and 45 of them came back as winners. The sixth graders from McDuffie County had the highest number of first place winners of all who participated. McDuffie County was recognized as having the most participants and most winners for 2006-2007.

"They're all really winners," said Kathleen Drayton, McDuffie County 4-H Program Assistant. "It took a lot of work and practice for each young person to prepare for this event."

Each fifth and sixth grade 4-H'er gave an illustrated talk or demonstration on a topic they chose. Most demonstrations last about four minutes, and the 4-H'ers use two or three posters.

Competition for Cloverleaf 4-H'ers end at district competition, but it prepares them for more advanced competition as they get older. 4-H'ers who participated were:

First place - Kayln Brown - Fresh Water Fish; Wykell Brown - Conservation & Recycling; Justin Cronic - Poultry & Egg Science; KenTaesha Cartledge - Food for the Family; Rebecca McCullom - Photography; Ronald Dawson - Using Water Wisely; Jasmine Flournoy - Ocean Ecology; Torez Hanson - Safety; Aaliyah Harris - Computer; Taylor Kendrick - Time and Money Management; Heather McGahee - Rabbit; Olivia Palmer - International; Peter Pin - Workforce Preparation & Career Development; Shanquisha Ross - Health; Sherrod Hart - Paleontology; Travanta Wright - Bicycle; Bianca Turman - Between Meal Snacks; Calvin Sorrells - Forest Resources & Wood Sciences; Barry Arrington - Electric/Electronics; Jakema Angevine - Dairy & Milk Science; Ja'Quisha Berry - Food for Fitness.Second place - James Dean - Companion Animal; DeJa Hampton - Computer; Rakeem Hunt - Plants, Soils & Fertilizer; Kayla Lott - Food Safty & Preservation; Hillary McGahee - Performing Arts, Vocal; Jared Latislaw Electric/Electronics; Bryce Przybysz - International; Antoinette Pinkston - Dairy & Milk; Chiara Walker - Workforce Preparation; Acquierria Tucker - Veterinary Science; Jasmine Shorty - Conservation & Recycling; Christian Powell - Rabbit; Shelby Key - Paleontology; Stevye Tudor Plants, Soils & Fertilizer; Treshawn Hill - Communications.

Third place - Jalah Morris - Fruits, Vegetables & Nuts; Jayal Flournoy - Geology; Makia Rogers - Plants, Soils, Fertilizer; Noah Lewis - Time & Money Management; Elizabeth Johnson - History; Damien Demmons - Beef.

Honorable Mention - Kaylin Kiester - History; Alex Bolia - General Science; Lauren Valdes - Horse; Tyler James - Ocean Ecology; David Huff - Craft; Georgia McAlister Time & Money Management; Denzel McNair - General Science; Jimmie Roberts - Public Speaking; Halley Moore - Horse; Jessica Prince - Human Development; Megan Thompson - Arts; Ty Cummings Public Speaking; Antonia Ballard - History; Turner Gilliam - Sports; Kyle Randolph - Fresh Water Fish; Megan Benson - Arts; Elizabeth Welch - Cat Care; Casey Epps - Horse; Daniel Daley Safety; Khaleel Curry - Computer; Melody Samuels - Safety; Bryanna Grissom Archaeology; Cecilia Burnett - Companion Animal Science; Charlie Demmons - Sports; Olivia Hart Dog Care & Training; Shaheed Scott - Wildlife; Shanequia Frails - Arts; LaTonya Sallywhite - Conservation & Recycling; Keilondria Robertson - Veterinary Science; Markica Bell - Clothing & Textiles.

The following older 4-H'ers attended and served as teen leaders: Amanda Acosta, Jordon Lewis, Tavin Walker, Debra Weir, William Lloyd, Adrianne Dawkins and Ronney Gant. Also attending were: Frank Watson, County Extension Coordinator, Kathleen Drayton, McDuffie County 4-H Program Assistant and Caroline Richardson, County Extension Agent. The Adult leaders were: Anita Cummings, Renee Crockett, April Hadden, Pam Hadden and Tony Mims.

Web posted on Thursday, March 15, 2007

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .