The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

McDuffie County 4-H'ers shine at February competition at Rock Eagle

Seventy McDuffie Cloverleaf 4-H'ers traveled to Rock Eagle 4-H Center in Eatonton to participate in District Project Achievement on Feb. 18, and 50 of them came back as winners. McDuffie County was recognized as having the highest percentage of winners, highest increase of participants and outstanding participation for 2005-2006.

"They're all really winners," said Kathleen Drayton, McDuffie County 4-H Program Assistant. "It took a lot of work and practice for each young person to prepare for this event."

Each fifth and sixth grade 4-H'er gave an illustrated talk or demonstration on a topic they chose. Most demonstrations last about four minutes, and the 4-H'ers use two or three posters.

Competition for Cloverleaf 4-H'ers end at district competition, but it prepares them for more advanced competition as they get older. Participating 4-H'ers were:

First Place

Breya Bentley - Arts; Jordan Boyles - Computers; Britnie Anne Campbell - Performing Arts - General; Alyssa Carter - Pork Production; Macy Darden - Horse; Zach Goldman - Safety; Grace Gregson - Outdoor Recreation; Sherricka Hamilton - Food Safety & Preservation; Dareawm Hampton - Performing Arts - Instrumental; Andrew Hyman - Electric/Electronics; Tiera Brinkley - Photography; Jared Latislaw - Power & Energy; Ebony Lee - Dairy Foods; William Lloyd - Fashion Revue; Carson McCarty - Fresh Water Fish & Shellfish; Kenierra Neloms - Archaeology.

Second Place

Holly Oubre - Between Meal Snacks; Katie Rhoden - Plants, Soils, & Fertilizers; Mausmi Patel - International; Brea Boutwell - Health; Tekeyvia Burley - Communications; Antonio Coleman - Food for Health & Sports; Khadijah Eubanks - Geology; Megan Holliman - Fashion Revue; Mercedes Huff - Human Development; Georgia McAlister - History; Haley Moore - Horse; Taylor Kendrick - Clothing & Textiles; Ty Cummings - Public Speaking; Bianca Turman - Fashion Revue.

Third Place

Tyler Grier - History; Rebecca Herrington - Between Meal Snacks; Robert Hobbs - Performing Arts - Instrumental; Shanequa Jackson - Food Safety & Preservation; Wachovia Jones - Plants, Soils, & Fertilizers; Taylor Laird - Dog Care & Training; Robin Martinez - Flowers, Shrubs & Lawns; Amanda Newsome - General Science; Daquan Williams - Flowers, Shrubs & Lawns; Bernard Dawson - Geology; Anna Kitchens - Companion Animal Science; Laura Valdes - Horse; Paul Ansley - Fresh Water Fish & Shellfish; Bryce Przybysz - Landscape & Design.

Honorable Mention

Precious Jones - Interior Design; Ethan Jones - Air Science; Laquttia McNair - Performing Arts- Vocal; James Mullins- Sports; Devan Anderson - Wildlife; Asha Booker - Performing Arts- Vocal; Kaitlin Braxton - Veterinary Science; Ellaron Hardens - Human Development; Sha'Quallia Johnson - Human Development; Jakuria Jones - General Science; Tyler Robins - Crafts; Ben Hawk - Companion Animal Science; Joe Hawk - Outdoor Survival Skills; Shanquisha Ross - Time & Money Management; Jasmine Flournoy - Food for Health & Sport; Leslie Hampton - Public Speaking; Raven Hampton - Wildlife; Aaliyah Harris - Computers; Antonia Ballard - Quick Meals; Noah Lewis - Time & Money Management; Jimmie Roberts - Health.

The following older 4-H'ers attended and served as teen leaders: Amanda Acosta, Kanisha Barbour, Porsha Reese and Blake Walters. Also attending were: Frank Watson, County Extension Coordinator, Kathleen Drayton, McDuffie County 4-H Program Assistant and Caroline Richardson, County Extension Agent. There were several parents that also attended.


Sixth graders who participated in District Project Achievement were:

First row: Taylor Laird, Holly Oubre, Rebecca Herrington, Ethan Jones, Grace Gregson, Amanda Newsome, Mausmi Patel and Andrew Hyman.

Second row: Jared Latislaw, James Mullins, Sherricka Hamilton, Kenierra Neloms, Devan Anderson, Alyssa Carter, Kaitlin Braxton, Katie Rhoden and Shanequa Jackson.

Third row: Daquan Williams, Antonio Coleman, Tavin Walker, Sha'Quallia Johnson, Brea Bentley, Dareawn Hampton and Jordan Boyles.

Fourth row: Macy Darden, Precious Jones, Tiera Brinkley Mercedes Huff, Tekeyvia Burley, Asha Booker and Robert Hobbs.

Fifth row: Brea Boutwell, Laquttia McNair, Robin Martinez, Ellaron Hardens, Khadijah Eubanks and Jakuria Jones.

Sixth row: Wachovia Jones, William Lloyd, Megan Holliman, Tyler Grier, Carson McCarty, Britnie Anne Campbell, Zach Coleman and Ebony Lee.


Fifth graders who participated in District Project Achievement were:

First row: Antonia Ballard, Shanquisha Ross, Alex Bolia, Jasmine Flournoy, Aaliyah Harris and Georgia McAlister.

Second row: Ann Kitchens, Bianca Turman, Daniel Musick, Bryce Przybysz, Taylor Kendrick and Jimmie Roberts.

Third row: Hillary McGahee, Raven Hamilton, Heather McGahee, Ben Hawk, Joe Hawk and Paul Ansley.

Fourth row: Ty Cummings, Leslie Hampton, Tyler Robins, Bernard Dawson, Haley Moore, and Noah Lewis.

Back row: Teen Leaders - Amanda Acosta and Blake Walters.

Not Shown: Laura Valdes

Web posted on Thursday, March 16, 2006

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .