The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

McDuffie County 4-H'ers take honors at 4-H event

Twenty-Eight McDuffie Cloverleaf 4-H'ers traveled to Rock Eagle 4-H Center in Eatonton to participate in District Project Achievement on Feb. 16, and 19 of them came back as winners.

"They're all really winners," said Frank Watson, McDuffie County Coordinator. "It took a lot of work and practice for each young person to prepare for this event."

Each fifth and sixth grade 4-H'er gave an illustrated talk or demonstration on a topic they chose. Most demonstrations last about four minutes, and the 4-H'ers use two or three posters.

Competition for Cloverleaf 4-H'ers ends at district, but it prepares them for more advanced competition as they get older. Four-H'ers who participated were:

First Place - Jakema Angevine - Clothing and Textiles; Shanequia Frails - Dairy Foods; Patience Hickox - Geology; Latasia Rogers - Kitchen Fun; Autumn Shelton -Entomology; Samantha Sims - General Science; Kimberly Williams - Crafts.

Second Place - Khaleel Curry - Food for Health & Sports; Casey Epps - Archaeology; Porche Grant - Food for Fitness; Breanna Grissom - Arts; Alex Huff - Paleontology; Jalah Morris - Food Fare; Tony Rosales - Arts.

Third Place - Chase Beggs - Ocean Ecology; Demarcus Marshall - Sports; Laquasious Moss - General Science; Jimmy Rickerson - Wildlife; Ry'Teisear Webb - Creative Stitchery.

Honorable Mention - Nicole Adams - Horse; Chloe Faglier - Dog Care & Training; Shakera Hardwick - Between Meal Snacks; Jaylan Howard - Safety; Annette Leverette - Horse; Daecha Robinson - Food for Fitness; Skyler Sexton - Companion Animals; Heather Sobik - Dog Care & Training; Jordan Willingham - Photography.

The following older 4-H'ers attended and served as teen leaders: Amanda Acosta, Jordon Lewis, Tavin Walker, Debra Weir, Daniel Palmer and Adrianne Dawkins. Also attending were: County Agents Frank Watson and Caroline Richardson. The Adult leaders were Kathleen Drayton and Tony Mims.

Web posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .