The McDuffie Mirror

Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

THS FBLA shines at state

The Thomson High School Chapter of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) attended the Georgia FBLA State Leadership Conference in Athens, March 12-14.


Special to The Mirror
Sixteen THS members and two advisers attended the conference including Kristi Boykin, Tiffany Daggett, Tia Dawson, Colby Hendrick, Crystal Knight, Shavon Sallywhite, Brittany Hobbs, Lakeshia Davis, Kathy Robinson, Kelly Robinson, Sarah Beth McAvoy, Carrie Dent, Craig Pickerel, Shakina Grant, Eunisha Brown, Tay Davis, Mrs. Elene Favors, and Mrs. Tanya Morgan.

The opening session was held Friday evening. The THS Chapter received several awards including third place in the Local Chapter Annual Business Report event, Gold Chapter of the Year recognition, and Gold Seal Chapter recognition.

Carrie Dent was recognized for completing three levels in the National FBLA Business Achievement Awards. The four levels are Future, Business, Leader, and America.

The awards can be achieved by submitting paperwork describing activities, attendance at meetings, attendance at conferences, community service projects, fundraisers, etc. Carrie was one of seven Georgia FBLA members to make it to the third level -- the Leader level.

Others who received business achievements include Tia Dawson, Future level; Tiffany Daggett, Future and Business level; Colby Hendrick, Future level, and Crystal Knight, Future level.

Each member received a ribbon for levels achieved at the conference. Carrie Dent also received the Region IV Who's Who in FBLA award. She was one of eight Georgia FBLA members chosen for a region Who's Who award.

Kristi Boykin and Lakeshia Davis qualified for the final round of the Impromptu Speaking and Future Business Leader event, respectively, and competed again Saturday morning.

During the Awards of Excellence program Saturday evening, the THS chapter members continued to win awards including Kelly Robinson, ninth place in Accounting I, and Miss Boykin, first place in Impromptu Speaking.

By placing first, Miss Boykin qualified for the National FBLA Leadership Conference. She will compete against students from all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and Europe in this event in Denver, Col., July 13-18.

Web posted on Thursday, April 8, 2004

What do you think?  Send us your comments

Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .