The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Briarwood seniors to graduate May 18

Graduation exercises for the 21 members of the Briarwood Academy Class of 2007 will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 18, at the Clinton H. Grant Field House at Briarwood. The Baccalaureate service will be held at 3 p.m. Sunday, May 13, at the First Baptist Church of Washington.

Dr. C. Gregory DeLoach, senior pastor of First Baptist Church of Augusta, will deliver the Baccalaureate address at 3 p.m. on Sunday at First Baptist Church in Washington.

Briarwood choral members will present special music. The quartet of Davis Griffin, Seth Williford, Ethan DeMore and Ben Raburn will sing Amazing Grace as arranged by Jay Althouse. The trio of Heather Neal, Courtney Price and Jennifer Morey will sing Joyful, Joyful as arranged by Roger Emerson. Junior Usher Whitney McTier and music director Jeanie Joesbury will play the piano prelude.

Senior Class treasurer Heather Neal will deliver the invocation. Junior Marshal Carl Elliott Chapman will deliver the benediction.

During the thirty-seventh commencement exercises, on Friday, May 18, at Briarwood, graduation addresses will be delivered by Chase Wilson, valedictorian; Amanda Rutkowski, salutatorian; and Liz Grant and Ali Dyson, first honor graduates.

David Russell, president of the Class of 2007, will deliver the invocation and welcome.

Briarwood juniors and seniors will present special music.

The Briarwood Chorus will perform Seasons of Love by Roger Emerson. The Senior Girls Chorus will perform Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield. Honor graduate Seth Williford will perform I'm Not Gonna Cry by Corey Smith while fellow honor graduate Davis Griffin will perform Follow Your Dreams by Poco.

Headmaster John T. Hammond will present the graduating Class of 2007. Mr. Skip Griffin, chairman of the Briarwood Academy Board of Trustees, will award diplomas.

Class member Kyle Ewest will deliver the benediction.

Honor graduates of the Class of 2007 include valedictorian Matthew Chase Wilson; salutatorian Amanda Kathryn Rutkowski, first honor graduates Ali Denard Dyson and Elizabeth Forrest Grant, Joseph Adams Batrous, Bonnie Elizabeth Bounds, Christopher Lee Gerlach, Davis Fordham Griffin, Angela Marie Kirkland, Heather Lyn Neal, George David Russell, III, Morgan Rechelle Stuckey, Seth Daniel Williford. Graduates include Jennifer Nicole Douglas, Matthew Kyle Ewest, Jacob Roy Gay, Charles Lee Hall, Olivia Nicole Lyons, Courtney Kimbrough Price, John Barker Barrett Smith III and Ivey Allie Thrift.

Briarwood Academy junior Carl Elliott Chapman, academically at the top of the junior class, will experience the honor of leading the senior processional and recessional at all graduation activities as Junior Marshal for the Class of 2007.

Junior honor students who will serve as ushers for all graduation activities include: Whitney Paige Carani, Joy Elizabeth Dudley, Jessica Pailin House, Andrew Hart Johnson, Abby Deale McAvoy, Whitney Ann McTier, Cassie Priscilla Pickrell, John Marshall Spivey and Kimberly Brooke Wiley.

Web posted on Thursday, May 10, 2007

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .