The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

Briarwood graduation ceremony set for Monday, May 15

Graduation exercises for the 17 members of the Briarwood Academy Class of 2006 will be held at 7 p.m. Monday, May 15, at the Clinton H. Grant Field House at Briarwood.

Graduation addresses will be delivered by Amy Denard McGee, valedictorian and National Merit finalist; Joseph Brian Baldwin, salutatorian and National Merit semi-finalist; and Melisa Deann Newsome, first honor graduate.

Elizabeth Ruth Gerlach, an honor graduate, will deliver the invocation and welcome.

Special music will be presented by the Briarwood Honors Chorus, who will perform With All I Am by Taylor Davis and A Place for You by Joseph Martin. Music director Jeanie Joesbury, accompanied by Joseph Baldwin, will perform Let the Bright Seraphim by Handel. Graduate Blake Stitcher and junior usher Seth Williford will perform a guitar duet of Free Bird.

Headmaster John T. Hammond will present the graduating Class of 2006. Mr. Skip Griffin, chairman of the Briarwood Academy Board of Trustees, will award diplomas.

Class member Ramona Isabell Cochran will deliver the benediction.

Honor graduates of the Class of 2006 include valedictorian McGee, salutatorian Baldwin, first honor graduate Newsome, Brittney Leigh Edwards, Elizabeth Ruth Gerlach, Dustin Matthew Pilgrim, and Lauren Elizabeth Pinson. Graduates include Micah Lee Black, Ramona Isabell Cochran, Jason Ashley Dunham, William Robert Quinn, Katie Marie Reese, Matthew Lloyd Rivers, Clifton Blakey Stitcher, Lisa Ann Taylor, Joanna Lee Thigpen and Joseph Tyler Wester.

Briarwood Academy junior Bonnie Elizabeth Bounds, academically the top junior in the junior class, will lead the senior processional and recessional at all graduation activities as Junior Marshal for the Class of 2006.

Junior honor students who will serve as ushers for all graduation activities include: Joseph Adam Batrous, Ali Denard Dyson, Christopher Lee Gerlach, Elizabeth Forrest Grant, Davis Fordham Griffin, Angela Murray Kirkland, Heather Lyn Neal, George David Russell III, Amanda Kathryn Rutkowski, Seth Daniel Williford and Matthew Chase Wilson.

Web posted on Thursday, May 11, 2006

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .