The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

Briarwood honors elementary students

The Briarwood Academy Upper Elementary School Honors Day program was held on Friday, May 12, to recognize third, fourth and fifth graders.

Third grader Shelby Patterson, fourth graders Brook Stewart and Clarke Shelton, and fifth grader Marla Goolsby were selected by their teachers to receive the Citizenship Award based on their interaction with other students at lunch and at recess.

The Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP) recognizes talented students in the fourth and fifth grades who scored at the 90th percentile or above on a grade level standardized achievement, aptitude or mental ability test. Students who are eligible to participate in the 2006 program include: fifth graders Cordele Fite, Kate Graham, Ethan Jones, Jarrett Keen, Megan May, Morgan Messenger, Adam Rutkowski, and Amberly Wilkes, and fourth graders Brittany Ashley, Grant Hadden, Thomas James, Tad McCorkle, Clarke Shelton, Bryce Sowell and Dylan Wright.

Students who received subject area awards for having the highest average in a particular subject included fifth grade: Robby Bray - Math Science; Kate Graham - Language, Spelling, Math, Social Studies; Jarrett Keen - Language, Math; Adam Rutkowski - Reading, Science; fourth grade: Thomas James - Science, Social Studies; Jordan O'Connor - Reading, Spelling, Math; Dylan Wright - Reading, Language, Spelling, Social Studies; and third grade - Kylie Guy - Reading, Language, Spelling, Math, Science; Kaycie Kersey - Spelling, Math; Abby Sandifer - Reading, Language, Spelling, Math, Science, Social Studies; Cecilia Walker - Spelling.

Third grader Kylie Guy was the top reader at Briarwood this year, earning 372 points in the Accelerated Reader program. Dylan Wright was the top reader in the fourth grade, and Ethan Jones was the top reader in the fifth grade.

AR certificates were presented to other top readers. Those receiving certificates included: 350 Points Club - Kylie Guy and Ethan Jones; 300 Points Club - Will Wilkes and Amberly Wilkes; 250 Points Club - Robby Bray and Adam Rutkowski; 150 Points Club - Shelby Patterson and Katie Bean; and the 100 Points Club - Reagan Dyson, Perry Hicks, Mason Jones, Kaycie Kersey, Matthew Mooney, Colton Pace, Abby Sandifer, Chandler Tolbert Cecilia Walker; Jarrett Keene, Morgan Messenger, and Kate Graham.

Fifth grader Newt Powell received the Chorus Award from music director Jeanie Joesbury.

Perfect Attendance awards were presented to students who excelled in attendance by not missing a day of school. A Perfect Attendance award for three years was presented to fifth grader Jarrett Keen. Perfect Attendance awards for two years were presented to fifth graders, Ben Danner, Megan May and Megan Smith, and third grader McKenzie Whitaker. Perfect Attendance awards for one year were presented to fifth graders Cordele Fite and Spencer Wood; fourth graders Dalton Banks and Copeland Price, and third graders Jack Russell and Adam Walden.

Students who were named to the Honor Roll for the 2005-06 school year had an average of 90 or above for each of the first three nine week grading periods. They include fifth graders Robby Bray, Kate Graham, Ethan Jones, Jarrett Keen, Morgan Messenger and Adam Rutkowski; fourth graders Thomas James, Tad McCorkle, Brooke McGahee, Jordan O'Connor, Clarke Shelton, Mackenzie Simpkins, Brook Stewart and Dylan Wright; and third graders Kylie Guy, Aaron Johnson, Kaycie Kersey, Shelby Patterson, Abby Sandifer, Cecilia Walker and McKenzie Whitaker.

Students who were named to the Merit List for the 2005-06 school year had an average of 80 or above for each of the first three nine week grading periods. They include fifth graders Katie Bean, Ben Danner, Eli Holder, Megan May, Fifth Newton, Newt Powell, Kayley Roberson, Evans Smith, Megan May, Jessie Talkington and Spencer Wood; fourth graders Brittany Ashley, Payton Brooks, Jonathan Douglas, Tripp Greer, Carson Gurley, Cami House, Harrison Mohr, Tiffany Pate, Courtney Prince, Copeland Price and Bryce Sowell; and third graders Hunter Banks, Reagan Dyson, Mehak Gillani, Austin Hardy, Perry Hicks, Taylor Johnson, Lauren Langford, Matthew Mooney, Colton Pace, Jack Russell, Cameron Stadler, Chandler Tolbert, Justin Tucker, Adam Walden and Will Wilkes.

Web posted on Thursday, May 18, 2006

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .