The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Lewis, Bolia and Huff named 4H-ers of the year

Many 4-H members were recognized at the annual McDuffie County 4-H Awards Banquet last month. Approximately 100 people attended the banquet held at First Baptist Church in Thomson.

Local council members Sanequia Frails, Tavin Walker, Daniel Palmer, Chase Beggs, Jasmine Flournoy and Kori Love assisted Cooperative Extension Agent Frank Watson in presenting the program.

After their meal, the audience enjoyed a PowerPoint presentation of photos from the 2007-08 year, which included marsh studies at Jekyll Island 4-H camp and Summer Waves water park, seining, marsh mud "facials" and a lighthouse tour at St. Simons Island, drama performances at the junior/senior DPA and interviews at state congress.

"For a lot of them, Cloverleaf Camp is their first time away from home," said Kylie Hamlin, McDuffie County's new 4-H agent. "At least it was for me."

Three members were recognized with awards of the highest level: Jordan Lewis was awarded Senior 4-H'er of the Year, Alex Bolia was Junior 4-H'er of the Year and Alex Huff was the Cloverleaf 4-H'er of the Year.

The 2008-2009 McDuffie County 4-H Council was introduced with Kori Love and Daniel Palmer as senior representatives, Jasmine Flournoy and Tavin Walker as junior representatives and Shanequia Frails and Chase Beggs as cloverleaf representa tives.

At the banquet, award recipients include, for block one: Amanda Acosta, Nicole Adams, Jakema Angevine, Chase Beggs, Breya Bentley, Alexander Bolia, Tycarius Cummings, Khaleel Curry, Adrianne Dawkins, Casey Epps, Chloe Faglier, Jasmine Flournoy, Shanequia Frails, Ronney Gant, Porche Grant and Tyler Grier.

Recipients for block two were: Bryanna Grissom, Shakera Hardwick, Patience Hickox, Jaylan Howard, Alex Huff, Tyler James, Bianca Jenkins, Annette Leverette, Jordan Lewis, Kori Love, Demarcus Marshall, Jalah Morris, Laquasious Moss, Shala Moss and Daniel Palmer.

Recipients for block three were: Jimmy Rickerson, Jimmie Roberts, Daecha Robinson, Latasia Rogers, Hector Rosales, Skyler Sexton, Autumn Shelton, Samantha Sims, Heather Sobik, Bianca Turman, Lauren Valdes, Tavin Walker, Debra Weir, Ty'Teiseaz Webb, Kimberly Williams and Jordan Willingham.

4-H is a club for young people across America learning leadership, citizenship and life skills, according to the 4-H website. Members pledge their "head to clearer thinking, heart to greater loyalty, hands to larger service and health to better living" for their club, community, country and world.

Web posted on Thursday, May 29, 2008

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .