The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Georgia, Oklahoma, Mississippi win world series

Teams from the Peach State of Georgia, as well as Oklahoma and Mississippi came out winners in last Saturday's championship girls' USSSA Slo-Pitch Softball World Series games, which was hosted by the Thomson-McDuffie County Recreation and Leisure Services at Sweetwater Park near Thomson.

"We had a great tournament," said Bob Howard, local recreation director, who also serves as a state director with the United States Speciality Sports Association (USSSA). "We had beautiful weather for the tournament and everything went smoothly. Everybody I talked with said they were treated real nice and had nothing but compliments to give us on how well the tournament was operated. When you get comments like that, it makes everybody who had a part in it feel real good."

In the 19 and Under division, it was a Georgia team prevailing as the world champions. The Sandy Plains Outlaws, who went undefeated during the tournament, beat the Mississippi Wrecking Crew in the title game.

The Sandy Plains team scored a total of 106 runs in five games and allowed their opponents just 55 runs. The Outlaws defeated the Wrecking Crew 14-11 in the title game.

Stephanie Rhodes of the Sandy Plains Outlaws was selected Most Valuable Player in the 19 and Under World Series, while teammate Tameira Brown was named Most Valuable Offensive Player.

Porsha Blackwell of the Mississippi Wrecking Crew, meanwhile, was named Most Valuable Defensive Player.

Those making the All-Tournament Team included: Kaitlyn Johnson, Judy Barber, Myeshia Myers, Danielle Duncan, Micah Harrell, Ashley Bye, Becca Coppola, Natashia Lloyd, Selena Hom, Lindey Maza, Emily Abernathy, Katie Grimm and Anesha McClendon.

In the 16 and Under division, it was the Oklahoma Xtreme winning the world series. They defeated the Georgia Powder Spring Bullets 13-0 in the championship game.

The Oklahoma team posted an impressive 8-1 record during last week's world series' games, scoring a total of 155 runs, while allowing just 52.

Named MVP in that age division was Lindsey Strawn, who plays for the champions.

The offensive MVP was Brittany Dancer, while Heather Simmons was selected the defensive MVP. She plays for the Georgia Powder Springs Bullets.

Selected to the All-Tournament Team were: Kayla McKinley, Kyla Jolly, Brittany Burge, Tori Joyner, Katey Cox, Megan Turner, Jessica Gebhart, Jamie Cobb, Holly Simmons, Melanie Garrett, Erin Jenkins, Leah Pittman, Brittany Schlater, Linnea Swanson, Kayla Yorek and Samantha Childers.

In the 14 and Under division, it was the Mississippi North Meridian Optimist defeating the Ohio YaYa's to win the world series. Since they were the only two teams in that particular age division, they played each other twice - the Mississippi team coming out on top each time. The first game was by a 30-23 score, while the second game - the one that earned them the title was 17-1.

Named MVP for the world series in the 14 and Under division was Kendall Taylor. Offensive MVP was Brittany Pounders.

Players named to the All-Tournament Team included: Stephanie Kinard, Amber Spann, Bonnie Bennett, Abby Roberts, Kelli Harkins, Alex Dawkins, Corey Dawkins and Sara Dudley.

In the 12 and Under division, it was the Mississippi Diamond Girls capturing the world series title. They defeated the Oklahoma Slammers 20-8 in the championship game.

During the tourney, the Diamond Girls went undefeated, posting a perfect 6-0 mark. They scored 116 runs as a team to their opponents' 28.

Named MVP of the world series in the 12 and Under division was Katie Vance. The offensive MVP was Hayley Stephens, while the defensive MVP was Morgan Mitchell.

Selected to the All-Tournament Team included: Katie Brackeen, Darby Bishop, Tori Holsen, Alex Hollingsworth, Casey Cherry, Jordan Parker, Melaney Anderson, Shelby Smith, Adriana Worley, Patricia Padgett, Taylor Baxter, Lyndsie Fountain, Sarah Harris, Cecilia Lawn, Haley Donald, Alysa Phillips and Kaitlin Polk.

In the 10 and Under division, the Oklahoma Culver Stars, who went undefeated during the world series, won the championship. They defeated the Oklahoma Hotshots 8-3 in the title game.

Named MVP of the world series in that age division was Shelby Parks of the Hotshots. The offensive MVP was Danielle Stangfill, while the defensive MVP was Brianna McArthur - both members of the Hotshots' team.

Players named to the All-Tournament Team were: Danielle Stanfill, Morgan Heard, Ashley Mayo, Sha Ingram, Shelby Parks, Morgan Reynolds, Zoey Pilcher, Brianna McArthur, Abbye Pierce, Shelby Stubbs, Courtney Ceaser, Karlee Whitaker, Jordan Herring, Kiyanna Hibbert, Tarriniqua Montogomery and Alisia Francis.

In the 8 and Under division, the Oklahoma Fully Loaded team, who went undefeated in the tourney, won the world series title. They defeated the Georgia Lady Tides 34-22 in the title game.

Named MVP of the world series in that age division was Ariel Denny, while Alanna Leisy, both of the championship team, was named offensive MVP.

Those selected to the All-Tournament Team were: Alyson Clemence, Irelynn Ingram, Carlee Geissier, Morgan McMullin, Amanda Moreno, Suzy Morgan, Taylor Graves and Lixi Malone.

Finishing fourth in the world series was the Georgia Knockouts from Thomson. The local team received a trophy - having played in just their first-ever such world event.

In the 6 and Under division, the Georgia Lady Tides defeated the Oklahoma Heat by a score of 19-11 to win the world series championship. Prior to the title game, the same Oklahoma team played the eventual champs and defeated them 17-16 - the only loss that the champs sustained during the tourney.

Named defensive MVP was Alyssa Loving of the Oklahoma Heat. She also was named to the All-Tournament Team along with the following players: Sadie Larney, Zoe Jones, Taylor Masquas, Grace Martin, Molly Hardy, Landry Solomon and Nakia Harjo.

Web posted on Thursday, July 26, 2007

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .