The McDuffie Mirror

Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

Eagle Scouts carry on long tradition in Troop 125

Three McDuffie County boys are following a trail blazed by some well known American leaders like former President Gerald Ford.


Scott Jenkins (from right), Craig Foster, Alex Newton and Guill Johnson pose with the Troop 125 Eagle plaque.

Craig Foster, Scott Jenkins and Alex Newton all attained the rank of Eagle Scout, joining an elite group that includes President Ford and other American leaders like Ross Perot and Donald Rumsfeld.

The boys, members of Boy Scout Troop 125, fulfilled rigorous leadership responsibilities and completed major service projects to earn their Eagle Scout Badge.

"Scouting points them toward a higher life," said Guill Johnson, the oldest living Eagle Scout from Troop 125 who administered the Eagle Pledge to the newest members at a Court of Honor Ceremony in August.

Mr. Johnson, who received his Eagle Badge in 1951, remembers diligently working on requirements to become the first member of Troop 125 to receive the coveted badge. Despite the fact that fellow Scout Leonard Lokey Jr. attained the Eagle badge a few months before he did, Mr. Johnson remembers the time with fondness.

"It was one of the most important times in my life.

"Next to the church, scouting is the most important organization a boy can belong to," he said.

While participating in the ceremony to honor the Eagles, Mr. Johnson himself received an unexpected honor when Scoutmaster Donnie Reese presented him with an Eagle Badge to replace the one he lost over the years.

"Receiving a new badge meant a lot to me," he said.

To complete their Eagle Scout requirements, the boys from Troop 125 had to complete 21 merit badges in addition to their major service projects. Only 4 percent of scouts complete all the requirements to attain the Eagle Badge.

Thomas Craig Foster, Jr.

The son of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Craig Foster, he began his Scouting with Tiger Cub Pack 125. He earned the Arrow of Light Award and entered Troop 125 in 1997.

Craig had a two fold service project. He planned, developed and supervised Scouts during cleaning and relining the First United Methodist Church parking lots. In addition, he planned, organized and completed the refurbishing and relocation of the old church sign. To complete the project, he landscaped with new annuals.

Craig, an active member of the Thomson First United Methodist Church, participates in Drop Zone Ministries and Pathway Choir and has traveled on Choir Tour.

As part of his Scouting, Craig earned four of the God and Country religions awards, a significant accomplishment. He earned God and Me, God and Family, God and Church, and God and Life Awards.

A 2004 graduate of Thomson High School where he was a member of the Bulldog Brigade and the soccer team, he attends Mercer University in Macon, studying pharmacy.

Scott Andrew Jenkins

Scott, son of Mr. and Mrs. Blaine C. Jenkins, began Cub Scouting with Den 6, Pack 125. He earned the Arrow of Light and joined Troop 125 in 1998.

For his Eagle project, Scott developed, planned and gave leadership in the beatification of the Dearing Elementary School parking lot, track and playground. He improved the landscaping by removing overgrown plants and replacing them with new plants, and he cleaned up the track and built three benches for the playground.

A lifelong member of Thomson First United Methodist Church, he is an active member of Drop Zone Ministries. Through Scouting he earned the God and Me, God and Family and God and Church Religious Awards.

Scott, a senior at Thomson High School, is a dedicated member of the football team and has been a member of the tennis and track teams.

Jonathan Alexander Newton

Alex, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Newton, Jr., joined scouting as a Tiger Cub in Pack 125. He earned the Arrow of Light Award in 1997 and joined Troop 125.

For his service project, he beautified Thomson Elementary School through several improvements. He planned, designed and managed the installation of landscaping and irrigation at the parent drop off and pick up areas. In addition, he decorated the entrance area by mounting the large letters TES which he had designed and cut out.

Alex, a member of Thomson First United Methodist Church, has been in the choir and served as an acolyte with the church. He is a member of Drop Zone Ministries.

Through Scouting, he completed the exceptional feat of earning four God and Country Religious Awards: God and Me, God and Family, God and Church, and God and Life.

Alex, a senior at Augusta Christian High School, enjoys sports and was a member of the tennis team when it took a state title in 2003.

1950 Leonard Lokey Jr.

1965 Ben Willis

1991 Matthew Lake

1951 Guill Johnson

1965 David Thomas

1992 Ashley Dent

1951 Hoyt Oliver

1965 Danny Johnson

1992 Jamie Alfriend

1955 Bobby Kitchens

1965 Jimmy Wall

1993 Jabe Hilson

1955 Wyck Knox Jr.

1965 Bob Wilson Jr.

1993 Corey Hanks


Jimmy Harrison


Rick Hawes

1994 Richard Hawes


John McNiel Jr.


Tommy Lockett

1994 James Hauck


Bob Pannell


Glenn Wilson

1995 Drew Lake

1956 Lawrence Lockett Jr.

1967 Crawford Broome

1996 Jay Maxwell

1956 Hayden Hays

1967 Mel Norris

1996 Levi VanSant

1956 Tommy Lokey

1967 Charles Brunson

1996 Walker Hopkins

1956 Smitty Carr

1967 Jimmy Jones

1996 Bennett Dudley

1956 George Lokey

1967 Tommy Neal

1996 Andy Knox Jr.

1958 Bob Knox Jr.

1968 Jack Blanchard

1996 Trey Newton

1958 Jimmy Hutchinson

1969 Duane Humphrey

1997 Ryan Hemphill

1958 Johnny Sisson

1973 Epp Wilson

1998 Matthew Heuer

1958 Gordon Wilson

1981 Darrell Lokey

1998 Nick Armstrong

1959 Fred Blackmon Jr.

1984 Alan Deariso

1999 Colin Hilson

1960 Jimmy Davidson

1985 Steve Carr

1999 Dayton Smith

1960 Tom Harper III

1985 Neal Tam

1999 Wesley Whitaker

1960 Warren Blackmon

1986 Kevin Carr

2001 Bryce Hawes

1960 Allen Young

1986 Clint Hilson

2001 Colt Adams

1960 Jimmy Wilson

1987 Chris Hill

2002 Jeffery Cobb

1961 Bob Young

1987 Butch Askew

2002 Nathan Lake

1961 Jay Wilson

1987 Tom Davis

2002 John McDaniel

1963 Andy Knox

1988 Jim Wilson

2002 Bob Wilson III

1963 Johnny McCarty

1988 Sherwood Clements

2002 Billy Brunson

1963 David Young

1988 Trent Henderson

2002 Blakely Holley

1963 T.O. McNeill Jr.

1989 Rob Joesbury

2003 David Williams

1963 Tommy Brown

1989 Jason Meyer

2003 Wesley Walker

1963 Danny Kimbrell

1990 Andrew Smith

2003 Kelsey Jones

1963 Jim Bradshaw

1990 Donnie Reese

2004 Craig Foster

1964 Monty Nelson

1991 Andy Entriken

2004 Alex Newton

1964 Allan Hall

1991 Cameron Lokey

2004 Scott Jenkins

Web posted on Thursday, September 23, 2004

What do you think?  Send us your comments

Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01


Warren County

Wilkinson County

David Emanuel Academy

Briarwood Academy

· Scoreboard
Team Pages
Team Schedules


21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .