The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

Knox, Norton represent McDuffie on partnership

The five-county partnership that will promote tourism at Clarks Hill Lake and push for a runway extension at the Thomson-McDuffie County airport has chosen its two board members from each county.

McDuffie County Commissioners approved the representatives for the partnership board during their Oct. 5 meeting. McDuffie County Manager Don Norton and Thomson Mayor Bob Knox will represent the county at the quarterly partnership meetings.

Mayor Knox and Forward McDuffie Director Don Powers were nominated by Commission Chairman Charlie Newton, but Commissioner Fred Favors felt a representative from the county government should be on the board. Rev. Favors nominated Mr. Norton, who received enough votes to give him the job.

Mr. Norton, who was not totally taken by surprise at the nomination, said he was glad to serve in that capacity.

"I'm pleased that the board would consider me to take on that responsibility," he said, adding that the projects on tap for the partnership look promising for McDuffie County.

Mayor Knox also stated that he was anxious to get the partnership moving and underway. He was selected as the partnership's chairman on Monday.

"I'm looking forward to it. I think it's a great opportunity for us all to work together," he said.

Mayor Knox, who was a unanimous choice by commissioners to be on the board, was picked because of his experience in public office - a quarter century as mayor - and because of his contacts in the five counties and at the state level.

"I know those folks. I've worked with them for many years," Mayor Knox said. "...You combine that, maybe, with some of the knowledge I have of some of the folks in Atlanta that I've worked with at the state level and the federal level from that standpoint, I think we can pool our resources and each take our strengths to the table and make it work out best for the whole group."

The other counties involved also announced their board members prior to the first meeting at Savannah Rapids Pavilion on Monday.

Commission Vice Chairwoman Diane Ford and County Administrator Steve Szablewski will represent Columbia County. Lincoln County will be represented by Walker Norman, commission chairman and George Leverett, III, chairman of the development authority.

Warren County picked its Commission Chairman John Graham as well as O. B. McCorkle, the executive director of the chamber and development authority. Wilkes County will be represented by Commission Chairman Sam Moore and Washington-Wilkes Payroll Development Authority Director David Jenkins.

Web posted on Thursday, October 13, 2005


Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .