The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story     Printer-friendly version

Watson-Brown names 2006-2007 Junior Board

The Watson Brown Foundation is pleased to introduce its 2006-2007 Junior Board.

This group of young ladies and gentlemen represents high schools from throughout the CSRA. They are dedicated to the preservation of historic places and historic artifacts. In 2007, they will be awarding $25,000 in grant funds to local historical societies and organizations also dedicated to the preservation of Southern history.

Comprising this year's Junior Board are: Erica Bettross, a sophomore at Thomson High School; Kimber Kirkland, a junior at Lincoln County High School; Jamie Russell, a sophomore at Briarwood Academy; John Spivey, a junior at Briarwood Academy; and Spencer Swinson, a sophomore at Washington-Wilkes Consolidated School. They join with veteran Board members: Molly Newsome, a senior at Washington-Wilkes Consolidated School; Bonnie Bounds, a senior at Briarwood Academy; Liz Grant, a senior at Washington-Wilkes Consolidated School; Allegra Yeley, a senior at Davidson Fine Arts; Chris Hearon, a senior at Westminster Schools; David Russell, a senior at Briarwood Academy; Delaney Russell, a junior at Washington-Wilkes Consolidated School; and Laura Lemley, a sophomore at Augusta Prep.

The Junior Board is a self-selecting Board that has been in existence since the 2000-2001 school year. To date, they have awarded more than $140,000 in grant funding to dozens of organizations in the CSRA. The projects they have supported are wide ranging. Among them have been: the restoration of the Gertrude Herbert Institute's portico, a film digitization effort at the Morris Museum of Art, restoration of a Signal Corps pole truck at the Signal Corps Museum of Fort Gordon, conservation of the Wrightsboro Cemetery, conservation of the Jefferson Rifles flag, conservation of the Confederate Survivors banner of Wilkes County, interpretive signage at historic sites in Elberton, replacement of a historic boxwood hedge at the Robert Toombs House, and restoration of a grist mill at the Lincoln County Historical Society.

Applications for grants will be accepted from Dec. 15 through March 1. Please contact Michelle Zupan at 706-595-777 to receive an application. Applications for vacant seats on the Junior Board will be accepted from Aug. 1-Sept. 20, 2007.

Web posted on Thursday, October 26, 2006

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .