The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

 E-mail this story      Printer-friendly version

McDuffie firefighters recognized at Depot banquet

The eighth annual McDuffie County Fire Service/Fire Fighter Recognition and Awards Banquet was held Saturday night, Nov. 20, at the Thomson Depot.


John Raley (left) gives Dairen Cato his Firefighter of the Year award.
Photo by Lisa Kitchens
The 2004 Fire Fighter of the Year was announced as Dairen Cato. McDuffie County Fire Services Coordinator Bruce Tanner said Mr. Cato completed the basic fire fighter class in 1989 and has completed other training courses such as Haz-Mat awareness, flammable liquid control, First Responder, rescue diver, helicopter landing zone and NPQ Firefighter One. Mr. Cato has also responded to 95 calls this year and participated in 134 hours of training. The award was presented to Cato by John Raley with the Rear Admiral Richard E. Hawes Post of the VFW Post 7778.

Special recognition was given to Herman McTier, Ray Sutton and Dr. Alan Smith: Mr. McTier for supplying needed cars for vehicle training and extrication, Mr. Sutton for pulling out older fire equipment, and Dr. Smith for his assistance with the AED Program.

In an overview of 2004, Chief Tanner said the volunteer fire fighters and one paid station in the county responded to 485 fire calls as of the end of October. That figure is higher than the 2003 rate of 259. Fire fighters responded to 44 structure fires, 48 woods, 74 grass, 42 alarm activations and 110 First Responder.

In service awards, special recognition was given to:

30 years -- Eli Trivett

25 years -- Carroll Burton, Glenn Neal


Chief Bruce Tanner and Eli Trivett pose.
Photo by Lisa Kitchens
15 years -- Donna Bruce, Bobby Reynolds, Rhusa Mack, Michael Clark

10 years -- Mark Beckum

5 years -- Ronald May, Kevin Perry, Jerry Powell

Other certifications:

NPQ Firefighter I -- Dairen Cato, James Lewis, Preston Ashley

First Responder Certification -- Preston Ashley

NPQ Public Fire and Life Safety Education -- James Lewis

EMT Certification -- Kevin Perry

Certified Pump Mechanic -- Scott Montgomery, Joe Vines, Bobby Reynolds

Certified Emergency Manager -- Stephen Sewell

American Heart Association Fire Aid Instructor -- Bruce Tanner, John James, Stephen Sewell, Jamie Sewell, James Lewis, Doug Lord


Chief Tanner talks to Ray Sutton.
Photo by Lisa Kitchens
Haz-Mat Awareness -- Bobby Reynolds, Don Reeves, Preston Ashley, James Lewis, Stephen Sewell, Jamie Sewell, Joe Vines, Kay Lord, Kevin Perry, Scott Montgomery, Donna Bruce, John James

GEMA Rescue Specialist -- Lawrence Bruce, Scott Montgomery, Donna Bruce, Preston Ashley, Bobby Reynolds, Dairen Cato, Ron May, Jones Vines, James Lewis, Bubba Gibson, Stephen Sewell

GEMA Crash Victim Extrication -- Don Reeves, Bobby Reynolds, Bubba Gibson, Joe Vines, Lawrence Bruce, Donna Bruce, Dairen Cato, Scott Montgomery, Stephen Sewell, Preston Ashley, James Lewis, Ron May, Kevin Perry, Shawnee Graham

Associate Degree of Applied Technologies Health Studies with Emphasis on Advanced Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine -- Bruce Tanner


Chief Tanner honors Herman McTier.
Photo by Lisa Kitchens

Web posted on Thursday, December 2, 2004


Temperature:53° F
Wind:from the W at 5 MPH
Visibility:10 miles
Dew Point:53° F
Updated: 04-Nov-2010 10:01

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Online Poll
Do you support the school system's graduation policy?
View results

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .