The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Essay contest winners announced

Thomson High School student Katelyn Paige McTier is the 2009 Voice of Democracy winner.

For her win, Miss McTier received $100, while second place and $50 went to Sara Virginia Blackmon-Hughes and third place was $25 to Robert Jackson Douglas.

The first prize winner's essay and tape went to District competition and placed in the top three in the District. On Sunday, Feb. 1, the top three District winners were honored at the VFW/LAVFW 10th District Meeting in Augusta and given their cash awards from the District.

Other students participating in the contest were Taylor Renee Clark, Lindsey Michelle Finuf, April Nicole Hobbs, Gabrielle Yvonne Glenn, Tayonna Sherie Evans, Hannah Victoria Wilson and Aleceia Alexandria Hatcher-Freeman. Not pictured is April Michelle Clark.

Thomson VFW/LAVFW No. 6672 promoted the VOD program in Thomson High School with the help of THS Counselor Jane Pettis and Sheron Finnerty at the junior high school. This year there were 12 entries in the local competition.

The winner of the local competition was sent to VFW District 10 for District competition and the District winner was sent to State competition with State winner going to National VFW competition.

Web posted on Thursday, February 05, 2009

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .