The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Briarwood graduation is Friday

Graduation exercises for the 17 members of the Briarwood Academy Class of 2009 will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 15, at the Clinton H. Grant Field House at Briarwood.

Baccalaureate services were held at 3 p.m. Sunday, May 10, at the First Baptist Church of Thomson with Reverend David Lambert officiating. "Blessed Assurance" was performed by the Briarwood quartet of senior Ben Raburn, senior Chase Walker, junior Adam Hardy and junior Matthew McElveen.

During the 39th commencement exercises, graduation addresses will be delivered by Sarah Nutial, valedictorian; Rebekah Prince, salutatorian; and Morgan Pilcher, first honor graduate.

Ben Raburn, president of the Class of 2009, will deliver the invocation and welcome.

The Briarwood High School Chorus will perform As It Is in Heaven. The Chorus will be accompanied by Saul Smith on the guitar, Trey Stadler on the drums and Maggie Keene on the piano.

Headmaster John T. Hammond will present the graduating Class of 2009 to Mr. Ray Hardy, chairman of the Briarwood Academy Board of Trustees, who will award the diplomas.

Senior Class secretary Price Chalker will deliver the benediction.

Honor graduates of the Class of 2009 include valedictorian Sarah Ann Nutial, salutatorian Rebekah Nicole Prince, first honor graduate Morgan Elizabeth Pilcher, Nicholas Wayne Dawson, Ryan Andrew Gerlach, Mallory Hunnicutt Pilcher, Benjamin Luckey Raburn, Jamie Claire Russell, Dawn Renae Shelton and Hollis Ella Wells. Graduates include James Price Chalker, Jonathan Edward Gay, Cane Hyman-David Gilmer, Mathew Louis Graziano, Ashleigh Lauren Newsome, Caitlyn Nicole Quinn and William Chase Walker.

Briarwood Academy junior Eric Dodge Johnson, academically the top student in the junior class, will experience the honor of leading the senior processional and recessional at all graduation activities as Junior Marshal for the Class of 2009. Junior honor students who will serve as ushers for all graduation activities include: Anna Leigh Goolsby, Robert Adam Hardy, Elizabeth Meriwether Keen and Taylor Laurel Stitcher.

Web posted on Thursday, May 14, 2009

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .