The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Guy denied for Hall of Fame again

A lot of people thought this might finally be the year that punter Ray Guy would get the necessary votes to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

But again, he has been denied. Guy did not make the list of 17 finalists, which was announced in New York on Jan. 8.

Rick Sang, the director of The Ray Guy Kicking Academy, told The McDuffie Mirror that he thought his friend and business associate would possibly be voted into the hall because so many people had been talking about him in the last year.

"Everywhere we go, people have been asking about Ray," Sang said. "I really think this might be his year."

Unfortunately for Guy, who with his wife, Beverly, is a longtime resident of McDuffie County, the belief of his friend was a far cry from reality.

The former first-round draft choice of the Oakland Raiders, Guy is considered by millions of pro football fans to have been the greatest punter to play in the National Football League.

As for Guy, once again, it's disappointing that he didn't get the necessary votes.

During an exclusive interview with The Mirror a couple of weeks ago, Guy noted that he appreciates the fans who have supported him through the years.

"They're the ones who made me," he said.

Through the years, Guy has come close to getting into the hall of fame.

On at least two occasions, he has missed getting in by a mere vote. His name has appeared on Hall of Fame finalist list seven times.

There are no punters in the hall.

Players making the finalists list include: Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, Tim Brown, Andre Reid, Shannon Sharpe, Roger Craig, Dermontti Dawson, Russ Grimm, John Randle, Cortez Kennedy, Charles Haley, Rickey Jackson and coach Don Coryell.

Along with Guy, several other notables stars of the past didn't make the list either.

They included former NFL Commissioner Paul Taglibue, Art Modell, the former owner of the Cleveland Browns/Baltimore Ravens, and former players Cliff Branch, Steve Tasker, Aeneas Williams, Lester Hayes, Terrell Davis, Chris Doleman and Kevin Greene.

Web posted on Thursday, January 14, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .