The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Varsity players selected to all-region teams

Three varsity basketball players from Thomson High School have been selected to All-Region Teams.

DeAndre Williams was named to Region 3-AAA Second Team All-Region, while sophomore teammate Ronkeem Sallywhite was selected to Region 3-AAA Third Team All-Region. Sallywhite missed seven games this past season due to a thumb injury. He bounced back and finished the season strong.

Lady Bulldog Natasha Ballard also was honored. Ballard, a senior, was named to Region 3-AAA Second Team All-Region.

Ballard, who played point guard, led Thomson in scoring in several games.

Other players making the Second Team All-Region with Ballard included: Sheirkerria Nelson, of Washington County; Ikiah Palmer, of Baldwin; Alexis Lewis, of West Laurens; and Kourtney Myers, of Richmond Hill.

Region 3-AAA First Team All-Region girl players were: Tyler Carlson, of Richmond Hill; Haley Marks, of Baldwin; Amber Antoine, of Washington County; Kourtney Alexander, of Liberty County; and Antornia Walker, of Burke County.

Region 3-AAA Third Team All-Region players included: Sierra McNure, of Washington County; Kelli Morrow, of Baldwin; Fathia Bess, of Washington County; Miata Askew, of Liberty County; and Eddriss Miles, of Burke County.

"Sug" Parker, head coach of the Washington County Lady Golden Hawks, was named Coach of The Year, while Alisha Gray, also of Washington County, was selected Region 3-AAA Player of The Year.

Williams, who led the Bulldogs of head coach Michael Thomas as the team's senior point guard, was the leading scorer in many games this past season.

Also named to Second Team All-Region with Williams were the following players: Javonis May, of Baldwin; Arzavier Renfroe, of Washington County; Greg Richardson, of Liberty County; Curtis Barber, of Burke County; and Robbie Bynum, of Richmond Hill.

Named to the Region 3-AAA First Team All-Region were the following players: Jordan McRae, of Liberty County; Jacquez Rozier, of Burke County; Lorenzo Ross, of Richmond Hill; Kentrellis Showers, of West Laurens; and Martavous Smith, of Burke County.

Region 3-AAA Third Team All-Region players, aside from Thomson's Ronkeem Sallywhite, were: Corey Blash, of West Laurens; Reigarvis Williams, of Baldwin; Terryhon Wright, of Washington County; Juwan Burden, of Washington County; and Vernon Jackson, of Richmond Hill.

Willie Graham, head coach of the Liberty County Panthers, was named Region 3-AAA Coach of The Year.

Rion Brown, a member of the Liberty County boys' basketball team, was named Region 3-AAA Player of The Year.

Web posted on Thursday, April 08, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .