The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Thomson High School students receive honors

The Thomson High School Class of 2010 celebrated their accomplishments with family, friends, faculty and school system administrators and Board of Education members during Honors Night, Monday, May 3. Approximately 300 people attended the event, held in the high school auditorium. A reception in the cafeteria preceded the ceremony.

Class Valedictorian Aaron Washington and Salutatorian Drake Smallwood were honored, along with the top student in each core curriculum department, and winners of academic and athletic contests and scholarships.

Medallion winners include:

GOLD: Aaron Washington, Drake Smallwood, Caitlin Burnside, Walker Barmore, Christian Usry, Haley Tam and Sarah Kellog.

SILVER: Cody Adkins, Patricia Cartwright, Adam Dent, Christopher Pin, Leah Powers, Jackson Reddick, Joshua Rauch, Heather Shivers and Timothy Stevenson.

BRONZE: Kierra Brown, Jasmine Green, Rebecca Hawkins, Jalecia Hill, Amos Jones, Ronald Lazenby, Rodney Long, Shanteria Lowe, Haley Tam, Aaron Washington and Debra Weir.

Awards through the McDuffie Scholarship and Loan Foundation include: the Lemley Memorial Scholarship to Aaron Washington, General Scholarship to Walker Barmore and Cortney Bowling, Academic Scholarship to Haley Tam, C.S. McCorkle Scholarship to Bianca Brown, Tyson Vocational Scholarship to Shanteria Lowe, William C. Leverett Memorial Scholarship to Domonique Roberts and Debra Weir, E. Wilson Hawes Memorial Scholarship to Walker Barmore and Sara Swan, Augusta Technical Institute Scholarship to Kierra Brown and Johnson Memorial Scholarship to Leah Powers.

Augusta Technical College CNS Diploma Recipients -- Emily Barbour, Bianca Brown, Beth Cheely, Ariel Dixon, Aleceia Hatcher-Freeman, Shelby Gary, Brooke Gay, Kori Love, Shanteria Lowe, Charlene Moore, Rachel Myers, Kandy Reece, Emily Usry, Meloni Wall, Debra Weir.

Department Awards -- (art) Haley Tam and Rodney Long, (band) Kenneth Loper, (chorus) Kellie Johnson, (musical theater) Leah Powers, (French) Shelby Gary and Courtney Bowling, (Spanish) Shelby Gary and Aaron Washington, (Family and Consumer Science) Christine Long, (social studies) Caitlin Burnside, (math) Aaron Washington, (English) Christine Long, (automotive) Travis Gunn, (construction) Jackson Reddick, (healthcare science) Shelby Gary, (business education) Ronald Lazenby, (agriculture) Amber Overton and Jackson Reddick, (science) Drake Smallwood, (Engineering and technology) LaDavian Climons, (outstanding female PE student) Kimberly Myrick, (outstanding male PE student) Korey Austin.

Senior Girls Basketball Awards -- Brianna Chapman, Natasha Ballard, Kierra Brown, Kiki Tanksley.

SCHOLARSHIPS -- (Delta Sigma Theta Scholarship) Shantanique Bailey, (McDuffie Retional Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship) Sara Swan, (Thomson Orthopedics and Sports Medicine Athlete of the Year Scholarship) Jay Bieltz and Korey Austin, (Woodmen of the World) Drake Smallwood and Aaron Washington, (Kiwanis/Key Club Scholarship) Shanquitta Burley, (Marvin and Evelyn Johnson College Fund) Leah Powers, (Principal's Leadership Award) Sarah Kellogg, (Student media festival) Chris Pin, Kandy Reece, Haley Tam.

Other Awards: (Valedictorian) Aaron Washington, (Salutatorian) Drake Smallwood, (outstanding male student) Drake Smallwood, (outstanding female student) Haley Tam and Sarah Kellogg,

(Dr. Mac Bowman Award) Aaron Washington and Haley Tam, (Robert E. Knox Award) Denzel Burley and Heather Shivers, (school spirit awards) Kierra Brown, Hannah Pereda, Haley Tam, Sarah Kellogg, Sara Swan, Korey Austin, Cody Ewest, Aaron Washington, (Perfect Attendance, 2009-10 school year) Patricia Cartwright, Shelby Gary, Patrick Banks, Ambrose Sleister, Xavien Stockton, Gil Usry, (Watson Brown Foundation Scholarship) Caitlin Burnside, Malita Jones, Christine Long, Shanteria Lowe, Hannah Pereda, Jordan Ramos, Joshua Rodgers, Drake Smallwood, Haley Tam, Aaron Washington.

Web posted on Thursday, May 20, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .