The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Teacher of the Year candidates named

The McDuffie County School System is proud to announce that candidates for the 2012 McDuffie County Teacher of the Year have been selected.

One teacher at six of the system's seven schools is chosen by their peers as the school Teacher of the Year. Each of the school-level winners competes for the honor of being named the McDuffie County Teacher of the Year. Once an overall winner is selected, that person's application will be submitted to the State Department of Education for consideration in the 2012 State Teacher of the Year competition.

Each school level winner will complete the state Teacher of the Year application, and copies of their applications will be reviewed by an independent panel of judges. On October 18, 2010, the judges will visit each candidate at his or her school to observe the teachers in the classroom and conduct a short interview. The scores from the panelists will be used to determine an overall winner for the county.

The McDuffie County Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual banquet that will be given to honor all of the candidates. This year's banquet is scheduled for October 25, 2010, in the cafetorium of Thomson-McDuffie Middle School.

The McDuffie County Board of Education and Central Office would like to congratulate this year's school-level honorees:

- Tina Butler, Thomson Elementary School

- Rick Dubose, Thomson High School

- Clint Hilson, Thomson-McDuffie Middle School

- Cherie Howard, Maxwell Elementary School

- Mikelyn McCord, Dearing Elementary School

- Hilda Van, Norris Elementary School

Web posted on Thursday, October 07, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .