The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Buccaneers honored

More than two dozen student athletes were honored during a sports banquet at Briarwood Academy on Dec. 9.

Most were members of the 2010 football team, which for the second year in row finished in the Final Four of the Georgia Independent Schools Association Class A state football playoffs.

The following players received recognition for their outstanding play on the gridiron this season:

Running Back Award: Michael Kent;

Defensive Player Award: Russell Burdette;

Defensive Lineman Award: Matt McHatton;

Most Improved Player: Ryan Pritchett;

Coaches Award: Taylor Coxwell;

Defensive Back Award: Ryan Nelson;

Briarwood Buccaneer Attitude and Leadership Award: Blake Sowell; and

James D. Rivers Award: Russell Burdette.

Coaches announced the football players selected to the All-Region 1-A Team: Tyler Edwards, Steven Gunn, Blake Sowell, Ryan Nelson, Matt McHatton, Russell Burdette and Michael Kent.

Those selected to the GISA All-State Team included Kent, Burdette and Gunn.

The Wendy's High School Heisman Award was presented to Emily Henderson, of Washington.

Henderson was the star center fielder this past season for the Lady Buccaneers' softball team, which captured the Class A state championship for the first time in school history. She was also selected the team's Most Valuable Player.

The 2010 Class- 1-A All-Region Softball Team also was announced. The team included the following players from Briarwood Academy: Kristian Dawson, Maria Celeste-Johnson, Emily Henderson, Megan Smith, Copeland Price and Kylie Guy.

Several softball players also were selected to the Class A All-State Team. They included: Dawson, Johnson, Henderson, Smith and Price.

Web posted on Thursday, December 16, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .