The McDuffie Mirror

Top Stories
Subscribe Today!
Quick Hits
    · Home
· Subscribe
· Contact Us
· Archive
· Subscribe
    · News
· Business
· Opinion
· Schools
    · Sports
    · Community
· Obituaries
· Weddings
· Engagements
· Births
· Anniversaries
· Submit Event

· Search Legal Ads

E-mail this story Printer-friendly version

Players receive region honors

Eleven football players at Thomson High School recently were recognized by Region 3-AAA coaches for their performances last season.

Corey Mayton, who led the Burke County Bears to the 2010 Region Championship over the Thomson Bulldogs, received top recognition. He was named Player of The Year.

Other top honors went to the following players:

Offensive Player of The Year: Drek Reid, quarterback for the Richmond Academy Musketeers in Augusta;

Defensive Player of The Year: Wesley Evans, defensive end for the Washington County Golden Hawks in Sandersville; and

Coach of The Year: Ashley Harden, Butler High School in Augusta.

The Thomson High players receiving recognition were:

Jonathan Atkins, First Team Offensive Player;

Sebastian Hargrove, First Team Offensive Player;

Anthony "Scooter" Moss, First Team Defense;

Phillip Anderson, top punter, First Team Defense;

Leroy Cummings, Second Team Defense;

Nic Wood, Second Team Defense;

Jacoby Crawford, Second Team Defense;

Ronald Jackson, Second Team Defense;

Josh Jones, Honorable Mention as a quarterback;

Tallis Cordosa, placekicker; and

Dontavious "Juicy" Brown, Top Athlete.

Web posted on Thursday, December 23, 2010

© 2011 The McDuffie Mirror. Contact the .
View our .